52 weeks with Carolyn

A Theme Based Photo Blog

Week 39 #22 Ordinary Objects

16 Comments

I have always been a big proponent of recycling.  Years ago before cities began curb side service I would collect our recycling and make a weekly trip to a drop off location.  Living in Iowa since I was a little girl we had a bottle tax law.  When you purchased pop, beer or other liquor, 5 cent per item was added to your bill.  I remember as a child walking around the neighborhood collecting bottles (cans weren’t as prevalent then) and taking them to redeem at the store to buy candy.  For years when I took my daily walks I would take plastic grocery bags along with me to pick up trash, cans and bottles.  I was always amazed that every day I could fill up sometimes 2 bags.  My neighbors knew me as the “trash lady”.  It became a regular joke with my husband how much money I made on my daily walks.

While traveling recently I read an article about a company in Seattle who has started a clothing line made entirely of recycled plastic bottles.  Their first hot item were women’s black leggings, selling for $25.  By the time the company gets in full swing with other products they estimate they will have diverted almost 7 million water bottles from land fills.  That number is staggering to me and that is just one town one company.

Another fact I was unaware of is how long it takes a plastic bottle to biodegrade.  The experts estimate it could take 450 years.  Yikes!  We Americans drink about 50 billion bottles of water every year but recycle only 23 % of that.  I haven’t gotten in the habit of using a reusable bottle for my drinking water and do purchase bottled water for use when I am away from home running errands etc.  I never leave home without one.  I do however, continue to be diligent in collecting the empties and adding them to the recycle bin for our weekly pickups.

I chose a few varieties and sizes of water bottles to highlight this weeks them “Ordinary Objects”.

_MG_1005_edited-1

 

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

16 thoughts on “Week 39 #22 Ordinary Objects

  1. Another nice photo, Carolyn. I am one who doesn’t drink enough water. Love your frame.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great photo concept and story, Carolyn! Thank you for being such a proponent of recycling :-). I wish that more people participated the way you do.

    Like

  3. We spent the weekend in Michigan and I noticed a small barcode on each bottle and can. It signifies that the object has bounty on it. Great idea.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love the water effect in the photo, and your message. Check out Contigo, reusable metal cups that keep cold things cold for 12 hours. Mine goes in the car every time I drive, and nothing to recycle there. Contigo AUTOSEAL West Loop Vacuum Insulated Stainless Steel Travel Mug with Easy Clean Lid, 20oz, Black, available from Contigo or Amazon. Highly recommended.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautiful shot and message. I agree that Contigo is the way to go. I have a PUR water filter for all my drinking water and try not to ever buy those wasteful plastic bottles!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. But can you recycle these? lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I like the editing. Making the ordinary special.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

