52 weeks with Carolyn

A Theme Based Photo Blog

Week 19 #23 Orton Effect

6 Comments

One of the things I really enjoy about belonging to this 52 week blog is exploring new techniques in photography that I have never tried or know  very little about.  The Orton Effect being one of them.  I have to admit I had to trust on reliable Google to help me with this one.

The process was originated by photographer Michael Orton in the mid 1980’s and involved blending two completely different photos of the same scene, resulting in a mix of high and low detail areas with in the photo.

With the help of current photo software  you can achieve the same effect with little effort. It gently blurs your image to produce a dreamy glow to the picture.  I captured this wall mounted water feature on a trip to Ybor City in Tampa, FL.

img_1059ortoneffect

 

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

6 thoughts on “Week 19 #23 Orton Effect

  1. Well done – I can’t wait to try this technique for myself

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This may be my favorite Orton effect photo so far. Great job, Carolyn!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. very nice and a great choice for the subject.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nice job. Not a big fan of the effect, but you did well.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You are teaching those of us still unfamiliar with this — a well done example of the effect —

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great example of the technique. Well crafted.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

