52 weeks with Carolyn

A Theme Based Photo Blog

Week 7 #44 Topless

16 Comments

My husband and I really enjoy fresh pineapple.  After moving here several years ago almost every time I purchased one at the store the check out clerks would ask me if I had ever tried to grow one.  Finally deciding to take a chance, when the pineapple had ripened enough to cut, I removed the top, planted it in a pot and set it in a nice sunny location in my covered lanai. Almost 18 months later I saw the plant begin to flower and low and behold that flower turned into a small pineapple.  The week before we left for our road trip back to the midwest I cut it to bring to my sister who is the ultimate pineapple lover!  Here is a picture of her holding my small but, according to her very delicious and sweet pineapple.

img_0020

This last week I decided it was time to start another plant, so I purchased a nice size pineapple and with one swift cut, the pineapple was topless!  The top is now planted and soaking up the sunshine and occasional rain showers in the lanai, working on producing another pineapple we can enjoy within the next 18 months.

img_0011cutpineapple

 

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

16 thoughts on “Week 7 #44 Topless

  1. Plant it in your garden and they will continue to grow and produce pineapples each year. Gary

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sweet photo and sweet fruit!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love it! I am growing two right now.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hahaha I had given some thought to a beheaded pineapple, too. Seeing I have yet to complete a post for this year, I have definitely lost out on that fruit for this theme. I have pineapple plants all over my garden. I think hubby thinks it’s enough now. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The joys of living in Florida!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Brilliant. Must have a go although I doubt if it is warm enough here. I shall have a go. Great idea and great pictures.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Very smart leaving it in your Lani! My pineapple got taken by the raccoon . I want to try again they are fun to grow!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Occasionally with Miracle Grow.

    Like

  9. Often was tempted to do the same thing — I lovely fresh pineapple — it is great in smoothies, too! Your pictures make them very appealing !

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I never knew you could grow a pineapple from the top. We’re going to have to tried it in our backyard!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

