52 weeks with Carolyn

A Theme Based Photo Blog

Week 45 #50 Toys

8 Comments

We recently spent a week with our daughter and her family in Colorado.  Our eleven year old granddaughter I think is unique, in this day of computer and video games, with the fact she is a voracious reader and also still enjoys playing with dolls.  I have no idea how many she owns but, she could probably open a small doll shop if she ever decides to sell them!  She also has a very creative artsy side and enjoys sewing and designing her own clothes as well as her dolls.  One afternoon after watching a video on the computer about how to make doll furniture she proceeded to work tirelessly for hours to produce a unique bed for her two Monster High Dolls.  I had never heard of this type of doll and she explained to me that they were Little Red Riding Hood and The Big Bad Wolves daughters.  Well, I had no idea they had children, at least none of the storybooks I remember reading ever mentioned it!  I so enjoyed occasionally checking in on her progress while she made the bed. Her hot glue gun was her weapon of choice and it got quite a work out while glueing the recycled card board boxes, the twigs used for trees, fabric top and bedding. She even glued a branch design on each side of the bed then painted it all with brown paint. On one side she hung picture hooks so the dolls basket and other essentials wouldn’t get lost.  I was speechless when she was finished, I just couldn’t believe how amazing it turned out.

 

IMG_0613_rory'sdollspe_Fotor

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

8 thoughts on “Week 45 #50 Toys

  1. What a creative little girl! And what a great shot, Carolyn. Did I tell you I lived in Colorado for nearly 30 years?!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, she reminds me so much of our daughter, Chloe, also 11! Great photo of your talented granddaughter’s creation! You must be so proud :-))

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your granddaughter (what is her name?) truly has a unique imagination and a lot of talent. It could very well be that she has a long future in design ahead of her.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It is great that she is able to develop her creativity. She certainly has a talent for it. I like your image very much.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Smart and creative! Just like her grandma.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Very nice – funny, I spent the weekend with my grandson and we also set up some of his toys for a photo shoot. Stay tuned. I’m almost current on my blog posts!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I am seriously impressed! great imagination!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Very interesting. Your granddaughter sounds quite creative.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

