52 weeks with Carolyn

A Theme Based Photo Blog

Week 43 #47 The Eye

5 Comments

Our last stop on our River Cruise last fall was Amsterdam.  I had been there in 1990 and one of my favorite places to visit was the Rijks Museum, so it was the first place we headed the first full day we where there.  I hardly recognized the museum because they had gone through major renovations.  We were welcomed into a bright expansive auditorium with a lovely restaurant, large gift shop, information area and pleasant staff.  After buying our tickets and checking out the map we explored the four floors of the museum.  I can not describe the excitement I had looking at so many beautiful works of art.

My favorite was the “Night Watch”.  It is a group portrait of a company of Amsterdam ‘militiamen’, the city’s civic guard.  Rembrandt made the painting in 1642 for their guild headquarters.  The painting is quite large, 11’11” by 14’4″.  Rembrandt is known to have painted himself into a number of his works and in the “Night Watch” he included just part of his face with one eye into the background.

IMG_1456_FotorRembrandt'seye

I am also including a shot of the entire painting. It was difficult to take with so many people milling around, I wish I could have gotten a sharper photo. If  you zoom in you will be able to find his eye to the left of center behind two of the men.

IMG_1453_pe_Fotornightwatch

 

 

 

 

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

5 thoughts on “Week 43 #47 The Eye

  1. Wow, Carolyn, you really had to “look” to “see” that eye! Way to keep your “eye” open to spot this one. Great photo for the theme.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How fabulous! – I’m glad you mentioned the size as I never would have known. Love to learn things like this through our 52 weeks – just have to learn how to retain it now!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Fascinating story to accompany “The Eye” theme! Good job!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great image and choice for the theme. I can almost sense your excitement of the day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

