52 weeks with Carolyn

A Theme Based Photo Blog

Week 37 #34 OMG!

7 Comments

The minute I saw this statue in Cologne, Germany I knew it would be my choice for this weeks theme OMG!  Our guide pointed it out to us and we all had a good laugh.  I did a little more research just recently to see exactly what the statue was all about and who made it. The name of the statue is “Kallendresser”, which is an expression for someone who carries out his call to nature in the gutter.  It can be found on building number 24 in Alter Market across the street from City Hall.  Designed by German Ewald Mataré in 1954, the origin is unclear and there are potentialy several theories.  Our guide informed us it was often done as a political statement in the square to drop your trousers and turn your back toward City Hall.  She didn’t say if that still occurs today!!  Whatever the true meaning, it provided me a great OMG! moment.

 

 

 

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

7 thoughts on “Week 37 #34 OMG!

  1. OMG, that’s hysterical!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. now that is too funny. I will have to keep my eye out for these small artistic pieces when I am over there.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. gotta love the Germans! Haben die Deutschen zu lieben

    Liked by 1 person

  4. holey moley!! (sorry)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a great post! I love it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks for the great picture and the history “behind” it. Sorry for the pun…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Not sure how to respond! OMG indeed. Well spotted and chosen for the theme. Thanks for the explanation too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

