52 weeks with Carolyn

A Theme Based Photo Blog

Week 29 #36 Out of Focus

11 Comments

We had a field trip on Thursday to Bok Tower and Gardens a National Historic Landmark near Lake Wales, FL. On the grounds you will find Pinewood Estate built in the 1930’s by Charles Austin Buck a vice president of Bethlehem Steel Company. The magnificent home includes 12,900 square feet of living area. The home has been well preserved and still has some of the original furnishings. 3 different families owned the estate before Bok Tower Gardens acquired the property in 1970. To find out more about the estate and gardens go to http://www.boktowergardens.org

When we arrived at the home I took several shots of the exterior while waiting to be admitted. Upon entering we heard a short history of the home and were directed to head toward the Butler’s Pantry to begin our tour. My first shot was this out of focus shot. Photographers know to change the camera settings often depending on the conditions.  All it took was one shot and seeing the results that I realized I forgot to change mine from outside to inside settings.  I almost deleted it then remembered this theme. A horrible shot for sure but, I was able to check one more theme off my list.

 

IMG_0009

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

11 thoughts on “Week 29 #36 Out of Focus

  1. Sorry to have missed the Bok Tower trip. When I was in Lake Wales recently, we drove there, but it was so cold I didn’t want to get out of the car. This shot isn’t nearly as bad as you think – it’s kind of dreamy…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very impressionistic. Glad you had fun there. It is such a beautiful place.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. At least you caught it early so you could make corrections and not lose the opportunity.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I wish I had your discriminating eye, Carolyn. I didn’t even appreciate that it was out-of-focus. I neglected to take photography in college, even though it would have been so useful to my journalism career. There was something intimidating about the word, F-Stop. :o)

    Like

  5. I agree with the two Susans! – dreamy and impressionistic! – a misty layered look!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It is so easy to forget to change camera settings when you have so many wonderful opportunities for pictures — I know from having done this sme thing! !

    Liked by 1 person

  7. A happy accident. Lovely soft shot. So easily done!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

