52 weeks with Carolyn

A Theme Based Photo Blog

Week 23 #27 Memories

8 Comments

Thanksgiving through New Years bring lots of memories for all of us. The smell of roasted turkey, freshly baked cookies, decorating the Christmas tree, unwrapping gifts, the sound of children’s laughter, candlelight service on Christmas eve at church and ringing in the New Year with a toast. One of my earliest and fondest memories is our yearly Christmas visit to my maternal grandparents. My grandparents lived out of town, so our Christmas celebration with them always occurred the Sunday before Christmas.  I remember the excitement of packing up the car with all our gifts and charging from the car to the open arms of my grandparents.  My grandparents were the first people I knew who had a silver metallic Christmas tree complete with the colored wheel that spun around to light up the tree. It was so fun to sit and watch the tree change colors. While the tree filled me with excitement, my most anticipated thing was choosing a gum drop off their gum drop tree. I always chose a red gum drop, yum, I can still taste its sweetness as I popped it in my mouth.

When my children were young, I bought a gum drop tree from a mail order catalog. Every Christmas since, I have set it out all filled with gum drops. It doesn’t take long for the tree to be empty as my children and now grandchildren all gather round to remove their favorite color. Memories are so sweet. IMG_0080__pe_fotor

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

8 thoughts on “Week 23 #27 Memories

  1. What a “sweet” tradition. Nice memories! Happy New Year to you and your family.

    Like

  2. Oh gee I remember those trees. How special. Happy new year

    Like

  3. I thoroughly enjoyed reading your post this week. It was if I rode along with you to Grandma’s house. Such pleasant memories you have and are making for your own grandchildren.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’d not heard of these – I can see as a child that this would be very exciting – lovely memory and tradition.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love your image and the story. It is so important to create those traditions and to make new ones too. Our family put Chocolates with wrappers that you can attach strings to and hang them on the tree. The grand children enjoyed putting the sweets on this year and hearing how their parents and uncles had eaten the sweets and left the empty wrappers! It was good to see them joining in the fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Your verbal and pictorial presentation of your “Memories” is tops!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What a great story. And the composition of your draped photo would make a great Christmas card!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

