52 weeks with Carolyn

A Theme Based Photo Blog

Week 21 #19 Homemade

8 Comments

Over 65 years ago my husband’s mother started a tradition of making Christmas stockings for each of her children and when her grandchildren started coming along she also made their Christmas stockings. When our first grandchild was born over 14 years ago I decided to follow suit and carry on her tradition. Our 7th grandchild was born earlier this year and I just finished making his stocking a few weeks ago. I have enjoyed putting every single stitch in each grandchilds stocking, personalizing them with their name and adding a fun stuffed ornament on the front. Who knows, I may live long enough to make my great grandchildren stockings too!

I have included my husband’s stocking hanging along side my grandson’s.

IMG_0007_pestockings_fotor

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

8 thoughts on “Week 21 #19 Homemade

  1. What a wonderful tradition. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so very nice! Merry Christmas to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahh. I made my son’s stocking and also for my cats. I used to enjoy doing that and I know how much love you put into them.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. you’d never find a nicer stocking in any store

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a great idea! Those children and grandchildren will cherish these for years to come!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. My grandchildren received an embroidered stocking when they were born. I’m so pleased they’re still using them.. You’ve maintained a nice tradition.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

