52 weeks with Carolyn

A Theme Based Photo Blog

Week 5 #1 A Part of Me

22 Comments

One of my most favorite flowers are daisies. When Jay and I got married 43 years ago, daisies were prevelent in many forms at our wedding. The wedding cake had hundreds of handmade daisies, draped on the cake, I wore a headband of fresh daisies attached to my veil, and finally we had two large wicker baskets filled with wild daisies I picked the morning of our wedding from a field nearby my parents home, placed near the altar of the church. Over the years, Jay has always requested daisies to be included in what ever floral arrangement he gives me for our anniversary.

On our recent trip to Alaska I took numerous shots of the gorgeous flowers and of course my favorite, daisies. I chose a simple shot of some daisies and decided to add a little of my artistic flare to it with some fun post processing.

IMG_0310_fotor

ISO 160 Focal distance 57mm Aperture f/5 Shutter speed 1/100

Both of my grandmothers were very artistic, one painted, made all of her clothes as did the other who also quilted, grew beautiful prize winning roses and taught ceramic classes for years. I like to think my artistic talents are a part of me because of their love for the beauty that surrounded them. I wish my grandmothers could see how far I’ve come with enjoying the beauty that surrounds me.

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

22 thoughts on “Week 5 #1 A Part of Me

  1. Amazing shot! I absolutely loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Daises are my favorite too!! We had daisies on our cake, my bouquet of course, some daisy trees for decoration at the reception & as favors we gave coolie cups with our names, event & date on them & the American Flag. In the coolie cups we had white & yellow M&M’s & a bookmark with a poem on it & daisies! 🙂 This is a BEAUTIFUL picture!! I could see this on a wall in a spa.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love the artistic flair!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love the watercolor effect.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love this. You must make a canvas wrap of this!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. very special – I like the tradition of having daisies every year on your anniversary.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. You shared lovely memories with us (and maybe someday we want to see a wedding picture). And the daisies pictured here are beautifully shown in the image.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Wow. Your image is so beautiful. Thank you for sharing the memories. Good to have tradions to mark those special occasions. Congratulations on 43 years!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Carolyn, what a lovely post. I agree with Liz that you should have a canvas wrap made of this. It is gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Beautiful Carolyn. I love the treatment you have. Is this the smart filter software you mentioned?

    Liked by 1 person

  11. this is gorgeous, without having any attachment to daisies I think it would be wall worthy. Your forebears would be VERY proud of your accomplishments.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Daisies are one of my favorite flowers and were part of my wedding bouquet and decorations at the altar and reception tables. And, of course, I think your picture is exceptionally beautiful! !

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I just love it!!! Well done~

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I love the effect. Very nicely done.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Awesome story and beautiful artistic photo

    Like

  16. Beautiful ! Loe what you did to the background!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Well done, Carolyn! You truly have produced a beautiful piece of art. I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Your post reminded me of that song from”back when”…about “flowers in her hair”…were you a hippie. LOL. Love your artwork and the photo.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

