52 weeks with Carolyn

A Theme Based Photo Blog

Week 4 #3 Before/After

15 Comments

I spent the weekend at a photography workshop in Jupiter Beach, FL. with 12 other photographers. Our locations to shoot were at Coral Cove Park and Blowing Rock Preserve. The Anastasia limestone outcropping, of over a mile, is the largest of its type in the state running along a barrier island near Jupiter Beach. One of our objectives was to learn how to shoot in the Aperture Priority setting, adjusting the ISO and F Stop, slowing down the shutter to freeze the incoming or outgoing waves on the rocks, to produce a creamy texture. We met 2 mornings at sunrise and 2 evenings at sunset. My images below were taken the first evening. Both images are in raw form with no editing.

The settings for the first or before image are:
ISO 250 Focal distance 17mm Aperture f/13 Shutter speed 1/30 second

IMG_0102

The settings for the second or after image are:
ISO 100 Focal distance 17mm Aperture f/25 1/3 second

IMG_0103

I have many hours ahead of me to work through the processing of my photos and the weekend was very tiring, getting up at 5 in the morning and staying up late for the sunset shots, but I am so happy I was able to participate. I learned a lot, made new friends and enjoyed seeing another beautiful place in Florida.

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

15 thoughts on “Week 4 #3 Before/After

  1. Gorgeous results and thank you for sharing the results of your hard work.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can’t wait to see your final result after some post processing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. very nice – what a gorgeous setting!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Really beautiful right out of the camera! I hope you’ll post the processed images as well.

    Like

  5. Lovely. Can’t wait to see some more work and hear about workshop. That sounds like something I would like to do.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Good work. right out of the camera

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Great shots. Thanks for including the settings, really useful!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This turned out really well Carolyn. Looking forward to seeing more.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Very well done Carolyn.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Great! I second that, thanks for sharing the settings.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Sounds like an interesting workshop. Thanks for sharing the images and the settings. The effect of the slower shutter speed on the sea is beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. This is a nice comparison of the “view” you can get by changing camera settings – and by having patience!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Lovely photos, Carolyn! I really appreciate that you state your camera settings for those of us who have much to learn. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

