52 weeks with Carolyn

A Theme Based Photo Blog

Week 3 #52 Yellow

18 Comments

Many of the schools in the area are preparing for school to start next week. I remember how excited I was as child getting ready for that first day of school. I lived in a small town and saw most of my friends throughout the summer vacation at the pool or playground but, I could hardly wait to see who my new teacher was and what friends would be in my class. Mom would take me to the local JC Penny’s to buy a couple of new dresses, no pants in those days, and to Eitmans for new shoes. Our school supply list was much simpler than the children of today, a couple #2 pencils, a Big Chief notepad, ruler, and a new box of crayons. Oh how fun it was to open that new box on the first day, and carefully pull out a brand new crayon. They were so perfect and belonged only to me, no sharing like the box at home. The yellow crayon always stood out in that simple box of 12, its the brightest and cheeriest of them all. I couldn’t resist buying multiple boxes to put together this shot.

IMG_0005_fotor

ISO 1600 Focal length 73mm Aperture f/16 Shutter speed 1/2

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

18 thoughts on “Week 3 #52 Yellow

  1. Carolyn, the description of your shopping day for the first day of school sounds exactly like mine. I still look back on those days. My mother was a beautiful seamstress and always made a new dress or two for my new school year.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Now you can go and color in all of the lemons and all of the bananas in all of the coloring books. I would be a happy person also! Very good job and loved you bringing in your childhood memories.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I love this. And your description of the “back to school” ritual. Mine was very similar which is amazing considering we grew up in two different countries.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Colorful idea! I cannot agree with you more about using a brand new box of crayons or colored pencils. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great job, I remember the smell of new pencils, paper and, of course — crayons!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Love the composition and the lighting. Very nice.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. The photo is refreshing! as well as being a good representation of still life photography in position and lighting. Sometimes these simple things create a nice impact as your yellow crayons did!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I still love crayons, great shot.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Good idea! — And good shot!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. The lighting on this is very effective. Crayons seem to make everyone smile….especially the yellow ones.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Lovely light and background. Thanks for the memories also.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I love the composition!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

