52 weeks with Carolyn

A Theme Based Photo Blog

Week 51 #31 Panning

10 Comments

Looking back through my almost a years worth of photos I found one shot I took at the Manatee County Fair earlier this year that fit this weeks theme “Panning”. At this stage of my shooting skills I know my camera was in Auto mode, so for me to catch this shot was pure luck. The ultimate goal is to get the person or thing in focus while the surrounding scenes are out of focus. It is harder than it looks.

IMG_4824_fotor

 

ISO 100 Focal length 48 mm Aperture f/10 Shutter speed 1/250

 

This morning I had the opportunity to practice a little more and set my camera to the correct settings. I caught this sporty BMW driving downtown. Its not crystal clear but, now that I have the hang of it I am looking forward to looking for more “Panning” opportunites in the future.

IMG_0123_fotor

 

ISO 100 Focal length 16mm Aperture f/22 Shutter speed 1/25

 

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

10 thoughts on “Week 51 #31 Panning

  1. I love that first picture Carolyn. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Panning is not just getting the rest out of focus but that it shows motion. Too fast a shutter speed may capture the subject stopped, but it does not truly show the motion/speed in the background. The car is an example of panning. You now have the idea / concepts and practice will start to make it easier.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. See you can do it, and quite well. Gary

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Now to the race cars — Good job!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great images. I like the first one. I thought you could also use panning to create abstract shots where all is out of focus and how you interpret it is up to your imagination. Sorry if I got it wrong!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. That car is great – you get the feeling of speed – I LOVE panning photos – I mean SEEING the great results – I’m still finding it difficult but its so effective once you capture it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

