52 weeks with Carolyn

A Theme Based Photo Blog

Week 50 #49 Two Of Us

16 Comments

When I began this blog back in August never in a million years did I imagine using these images for the “Two Of Us” theme. In fact I had one ready to use for todays post until I had a light bulb moment this morning. Last night our photography group had a field trip to work on light painting. I took my gear with me but had volunteered to help with some of the demonstrations so ended up not shooting. Instead I loaned my tripod to a newer member who forgot part of hers at home and wouldn’t have been able to participate. Shortly after arriving to go over the evenings event I noticed my shoes after bending down had broken apart under the arches. I laughed it off thinking well they are 13 years old and had recorded many miles over that time. Well, as the evening went on every step I took another piece fell away especially when we were set up on a gravel road. Step by step, inch by inch my feet began to feel like I had no shoes on at all. Eventually I just couldn’t take any more and headed for home and joked with one of our fellow bloggers I had to take a picture of my shoes to send to everyone later. He reminded me I could use the shot for the “Below The Knees” theme which I had already done. So thinking of today’s post I had that light bulb moment to use my broken shoes. Looking at the first photo you can see a little damage on the sides but, turning them over is another thing! Look closely you can see some of the gravel still stuck in the soles!

IMG_0002_fotor

ISO 3200 Focal length 22mm Aperture f/7.1 Shutter speed 1/25 Aperture Priority

IMG_0001_fotor

ISO 3200 Focal length 26mm Aperture f/7.1 Shutter speed 1/30 Aperture Priority

The women in my small quilting group had warned me that this happens to rubber soled shoes here. I don’t have a clue why, maybe its the humidity, but they all have had shoes/sandals do the same thing and one of the members last night told me it happened to her when she was at a party. Every step she took she left black pieces of her shoes behind. I’ve enjoyed the shoes for a long time and am sad to have to throw them away but, at least I was able to use them for one of my few remaining themes!

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

16 thoughts on “Week 50 #49 Two Of Us

  1. … and to think I witnessed this historical event! Good thinking

    Liked by 2 people

  2. They look like they are from caveman days!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is hilarious, Carolyn! I bet we all have horror stories about shoes, especially us women who have heels to add to the list of stories. May your two rest in their well-deserved peace/pieces? šŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh my goodness! Seeing them in the light made me laugh even harder than hearing you talking about it last night in the dark! Congrats on being able to keep a pair of shoes for that long. I can’t keep a pair of sandals longer than a couple years! I’m also going to volunteer to take you shoe shopping!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is too funny. on a trip to San Antonio, here I was walking the missions and my shoes fell apart. I had to find a shoe store. May your shoes rest in pieces.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Your post today gave me a good chuckle. They served you well.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Good story with pictures to illustrate! Ah — the price we pay for photography! !

    Liked by 1 person

  8. So funny. And I like the frayed frame you also used!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Hope you find another trustworthy pair to replace them. Great shots and presentation.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Carolyn, I’d have to say you got your moneys worth out of this pair of shoes!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. That was such a cute story about your shoes and how you thought of using them for your theme. And the funny thing is the same thing happened to me. šŸ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

