52 weeks with Carolyn

A Theme Based Photo Blog

Week 49 #46 Still Life

9 Comments

I decided to post a little early because of the upcoming holiday weekend. I hope everyone here in the U.S. has a wonderful time celebrating our nations birthday! How lucky I am to live in such an amazing country. For the “Still Life” theme I thought of several options over the many weeks since starting this challenge and have taken quite a few photos that could fit the theme. I have several of veggies for sale at the Farmer’s Market in Sarasota, flowers and a bowl of chocolates (the chocolates didn’t last long after the photo shoot was done!), numerous shots of flowers, dragonflies and my list could go on and on. I finally settled on a fun shot I actually worked on just a week ago. Several fellow bloggers have gotten me into using scarves as back drops for photos. It is amazing how something so simple can really make what your shooting just pop. In this shot I first tried shooting the bowl of starfish and the dried balls of various materials. It just wasn’t doing anything for me until I decided to lay the scarf over the bowl and replace the items on top. Wow what a difference! Everything just came to “life”. Hope you enjoy it as much as I do.😊

IMG_0038_fotor

ISO 200 Focal length 16mm Aperture f/5 Shutter speed 1/5

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

9 thoughts on “Week 49 #46 Still Life

  1. I LOVE this shot. I really like the simple white & then the added colors.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Nice mix of colors

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, what a difference!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nicely done! The scarf really does make things “pop”.

    Like

  5. Y’all keep it up and I’ll have something for my “Still Life”. Nice one Carolyn.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Beautiful image. The items do pop. Thanks for the tip.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I do love it. It reminded me of balls of wool and knitting needles.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

