52 weeks with Carolyn

A Theme Based Photo Blog

Week 45 #24 Long Exposure

13 Comments

I blew an opportunity to get some long exposure shots of a real roaring waterfall in Colorado Springs because I struggled with my settings. I got some great shots thinking I had my shutter speed set correctly until I downloaded everything to the computer and realized my mistakes. Practice makes perfect right? So, yesterday a fellow photographer and I headed to Selby Gardens here in Sarasota. After taking numerous shots of the flowers etc. we stopped to work on long exposure at their man made waterfall. It helps to have a friend along to discuss what settings to try, especially when that friend won a ribbon for one of her waterfall shots at a recent photo contest! I’ve included two shots, different angles and degree of closeness.

IMG_0163_fotor

ISO 100 Focal length 41mm Aperture f/29 Shutter speed 6 seconds

IMG_0169_fotor

ISO 100 Focal length 55mm Aperture f/32 Shutter speed 6 seconds

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

13 thoughts on “Week 45 #24 Long Exposure

  1. By Jove I think you are getting the hang of it

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Perfect … Such a good job!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good job, Carolyn! I’ve tried experimenting with long exposure on that same waterfall. I had trouble because all my shots were too bright (overexposed). I will keep trying!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nice exposure of the water, Well done

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Very well done Carolyn. As I always say: “Practice makes Perfect”.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Your practice is paying off — the second picture is really nice —

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Excellent! I applaud you.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Beautiful shots! You will have to plan another trip to colorado now that you have more experience!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Great shots. Glad you got it in the end. These are really good. Thanks for the technical info too. I want to go back to a water one too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

