52 weeks with Carolyn

A Theme Based Photo Blog

Week 37 #41 Single Color on Black and White

16 Comments

I have to admit this theme was way out of my comfort zone. It meant getting out my Photoshop Elements book and watching a tutorial on my Ipad while I practiced, practiced and practiced again on a photo until I got it right! Now that I know how to paint a Single Color on Black and White I’ll probably do some more experimenting. The first photo I tried was one with a purple dragonfly and gave up because its body and wings were so small I had a hard time controlling the paint brush and went way out of the lines even with the smallest tip. Searching through my photos I found this one with my grandson holding this weird vegetable that neither one of us had ever seen before and for the life of me I can not remember what it is called. It looks like a bunch of fingers and really creeped both of us out. My original intention was to use the photo for “Its a Mystery” theme but, I thought it might make a cool photo with just it colored. Not bad for my first attempt.

B&W with color_fotor

ISO 100 Focal length 3.85mm Aperture f2.8 Shutter speed 1/24

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

16 thoughts on “Week 37 #41 Single Color on Black and White

  1. I “may” have a tutorial that will help you with this. I am expecting guests any minute and can’t find it until tomorrow. In the meantime, watch this: http://www.photoshopelementsuser.com/html/selective-coloring/
    Hope it helps.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Good for you, Carolyn! I have TONS of learning to do in both the use of my camera and photo editing. It’s daunting and I’m so tempted to just use my point and shoot. What a weird looking vegetable. Let us know if you find out what that is.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Great job Carolyn, you have inspired me. I too have put this theme off -I have to get serious about this.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great job … And I bet you want to do it again … It can be quite addictive when you want to emphasize something. I do the same as you … Watch a tutorial on YouTube and while watching have photoshop on the desktop so I can keep pausing or rewinding … Makes it so much easier.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Good job for a first attempt. You picked a difficult one to start with all the points. I do not know what tools are available in elements so I can’t offer a suggestion.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It looks to me like “practice makes perfect”. I think that’s an excellent image. I cheated on this theme as my camera allows me to perform this function right in the camera. Nikon rules. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. All that practicing paid off — nice job!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Well done, Carolyn. Great job. It does take time. I made the mistake of choosing the wrong background colour and ended up finding out how to get a black background! Nice bonus. Like you have to practice more before I forget how to do it!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Very nice! I have yet to try this one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

