52 weeks with Carolyn

A Theme Based Photo Blog

Week 33 #12 Fences or Rails

9 Comments

I don’t think I really noticed or thought of how many different types of fences there are until I started looking for ones to photograph. I wonder when and where the first fence was built, no doubt thousands of years ago and most likely made of stones or wood, which are still used today. My shot in the Garden of Gods has two different types, a split rail and what I have always called snow fences. During the winter months in Iowa you would see miles and miles of this type of fence along major rural highways to catch the drifting snow.

IMG_3527_fotor

This shot was processed in iPhoto and Fotor
Distance 24mm ISO 100 Aperture F/9 Shutter Speed 1/100

My second shot was taken here in Lakewood Ranch. You can not drive anywhere in Lakewood Ranch without seeing white maintenance free fencing. They call it maintenance free because it never needs to be painted however in our heat and high humidity moss and mold accumulate. Almost daily last summer and fall I saw workers power washing them. This shot is one of my favorite spots and I have ridden my bike under this large live oak tree numerous times. Its a great spot to stop, get a drink of water and cool off in the shade.

IMG_2255_fotor

This shot was processed in iPhoto and Fotor
Distance 49mm ISO 100 Aperture F/8 Shutter Speed 1/125

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

9 thoughts on “Week 33 #12 Fences or Rails

  1. Nice shots – well done.
    There are quite a few interesting fences out there. I can’t decide if I like the newer ones or the older ones.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I always think of driving through Kentucky when I see a white fence – so pretty with the tree – very nice.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well done Carolyn! I agree with P, the white fences here make me think of the Lexington area. I loved Garden of the Gods… it was years and years ago that I was there. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nice shots

    Liked by 1 person

  5. When I was thinking about what I would photograph for this theme, my thoughts were in New England states. I seriously thought about taking a road trip this past fall in order to capture the fences and beautiful fall leaves. That did not materialize, however. Love your photos of our local fences.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love the differences of the look of the two fences. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Well done Carolyn. Where I grew up on Long Island in NY, they used your “snow” fence at the beaches in the sand dunes for the same reason as the snow. It helped to keep the sand on the beach and off the roadways.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Your Photoshop borders add to the pictures’ presentation — nice job!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I enjoyed your fences. Thanks for the technical information. I liked your framing too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

