52 weeks with Carolyn

A Theme Based Photo Blog

Week 21 #9 Drops of Water

18 Comments

One of the things I enjoy the most about living in Florida are the abundance of flowers and plants that grow year round. This year I purchased a large red poinsettia to place outside with a Christmas present lawn ornament I received last year as a gift. One morning I went out to check to see if it needed water and noticed the dew from the night before on the leaves. I quickly grabbed my camera to get some shots before the sun got any higher knowing once it hit the leaves the dew would begin to evaporate. Over the past several months I have taken numerous photos for the drops of water theme and just wasn’t sold on any of them. This one hit the mark for me. I love how the dew picks up the light and gives it a frosted look.

IMG_4398

I looked up a little history on the poinsettia plant and discovered its long history dates back to the 14th-16th century when the Aztecs called them “Cuetlaxochitl”. The sap was used to control fevers and the bracts(modified leaves) were used to make a reddish dye. The botanical name, Euphorbia pulcherrima,(meaning very beautiful) was given by a German botanist Wilenow. In 1828 Joel Roberts Poinsett the first US Ambassador to Mexico brought back cuttings from the poinsettia to his greenhouse in South Carolina. The plant bears its common name because of his discovery. Today there are numerous colors and varieties of poinsettia plants available. I’m still a big fan of the original red.

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

18 thoughts on “Week 21 #9 Drops of Water

  1. Carolyn, this one is excellent! You beautifully captured the glistening effect of the dew on the petals. Merry Christmas. Mary

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful! Loved the history. You are a wonderful story teller.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Shamefully, I did not know the history of the poinsettia. Thanks for taking the time to look it up for us.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The water droplets look like fairy dust. Beautiful. B

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I always thought that the dew drops looked like diamonds! What a great photo…as usual.
    Merry Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Very pretty! I was just admiring several poinsettia plants at Fresh Market the other day. I usually buy a few to decorate around the house. I think I will pop back in there today…. I wasn’t able to decide between the yellow ones and the red ones when I was there before. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thank you for the history lesson! Love it.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Great composure! Thanks for the history lesson.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. The poinsettia really does mark the season as Christmas — and you have a great picture of it. Red is still the favorite color, I think, for these flowers.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Very nice lighting with the drops of dew. I did not know the history of the plant either. There is a variety with double leaves and they are curled, which is my favorite. Unfortunately, I have two very active cats that play with anything and this plant is poisonous to cats. They have even pulled my cactus out of its planter, so no live plants until they grow old.
    Merry Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I enlarged the image and the drops are magical. What a lovely Christmas plant. Thank you for the history of the poinsettia too. Merry Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. You are lucky to have such great plants all year round. Over here in the UK everything is brown at this time of year. Love the picture.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Lovely! Delicate drops and seasonal too!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Lovely colours – I think my birth flower too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

