52 weeks with Carolyn

A Theme Based Photo Blog

Week 18 #10 Family Table

5 Comments

If you have a coffee table most likely it is used for more than holding coffee. I was curious where the term coffee table came from, so with a little searching on the internet the origin of the coffee table came from tea tables that were very popular throughout Europe dating back to the early 17th century. They were tall round tables that sat beside a chair or in front of a group setting to which a tea service would be placed to serve family or guests. No one knows for certain when our modern day coffee table came into existence, however J.Stuart Foote, President of the Imperial Furniture Company claims to have invented the first coffee table.
One would think the low tables the Japanese culture has used for centuries would hold true bragging rights. IMG_4287

My family coffee table has been used in numerous ways and sports many scratches and scars of long years of use. On Thanksgiving evening it became the battleground for a card game known as spoons.

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

5 thoughts on “Week 18 #10 Family Table

  1. I would never have guessed that the coffee table had such a long history. Very interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. And from the Tea Table came the “tray table”, invented to hold the TV Dinner trays of years past. Very well done and nice bit of trivia/history.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for doing the research. I enjoyed the answer. Great to see the family together using it. I bet these scratches and bumps are worth their weight in gold to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I never gave a thought to how it came to be a coffee table. How interesting. I just know that my brain does thinks the space in front of the couch would be empty without one – and I do not drink coffee.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. very interesting! – and now I will have to google “spoons” dont know that one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

