52 weeks with Carolyn

A Theme Based Photo Blog

Week 17 #27 Musical

16 Comments

IMG_3563While visiting my daughter and her family I was able to capture my grandson practicing his violin. He has been taking lessons for several years now and I always enjoy hearing him play. The piano is a 1930’s Wurlitzer Butterfly Baby Grand piano. It is called a Butterfly because the top opens up on both sides instead of one side like a traditional Baby Grand. The piano was given to me when my children were young and became interested in playing. Two of my three played for quite a few years. My daughter was thrilled to receive it when we moved to a smaller home. The gentleman who used to tune it for me said he had only seen one other like it in his lifetime but it was white. It has a real art deco feel to it and is a great conversation piece!

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

16 thoughts on “Week 17 #27 Musical

  1. lovely photo of your grandson… like the use of black and white for this. i’ve never heard of the butterfly baby grand – how beautiful! – i had to google to see the whole thing – definitely an Art Deco feel.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The lighting is so ethereal. Beautiful moment. B

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love learning new things with each of your posts. We miss you in OK!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow, wonder what the value might be.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Very interesting. I’ve never heard of a butterfly baby grand either.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Such a priceless family piece! Always loved seeing it in your home. So glad it has a new home! Know it is treasured !

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lovely photo. Definitely like the use of black & white.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. How lovely to have such a musical family. Love the ‘mood’ you have created in your picture.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Like the photo of your grandson. So glad to see young people learning to play instruments. I feel it is so important to assist with all learning. I had not heard of a butterfly baby grand. How interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Have never heard of the Wurlitzer Butterfly Baby Grand — it would seem to be a real collector’s item — no wonder your daughter was thrilled to receive it! It must be heart warming to see your grandson enjoying music also. Great pic!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. So beautiful. It reminds me of when my daughter played the violin. She was such a natural at it, but decided to give it up upon entering high school. I still ask her to go back to it, and I usually get a “oh mom.” I hope you enjoy his beautiful playing for a very long time!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. He looks very intent in his practice. I see the family resemblance in his profile. Great capture!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. What a beautiful photo. I love the soft light. That will surely be one he will treasure as an adult.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I like the black and white photo and the way your grandson is so focused on his music. Nice pix!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Great black and white portrait of your grandson. Good nave music in the family!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

