52 weeks with Carolyn

A Theme Based Photo Blog

Week 16 # 43 Solitary

11 Comments

Returning from the harrowing drive to take photos of the Hogback Covered Bridge, which were posted on Week 6, I noticed a one room rural school house along side the road. Getting out of the car and approaching it I felt like I had stepped back in time. I have seen many restored one room school houses in my day, but this one really struck me how isolated it was. There were very few farm houses near by and the road by it was quite hilly at times. Growing up my father told many stories of his younger years living on a farm in northern Iowa and walking a mile with his siblings to attend school in a one room school house. Unfortunately many of the old schools have not survived so it was a real treat to see this one still standing and also restored. I decided to include a shot of the school and of the plaque to cover my bases on the historical side of the school. (I seem to be big on including plaques!) The school would have been constructed from local stone found in Madison County. Many historical homes and barns in Madison County are built with this same type of stone. There were many options to fill the solitary theme all around me, the school, an old water hand pump, a blue bird house on the barbed wire fence, a unique metal gate, but my main choice was the outhouse sitting out back. Most homes as you know had them until modern plumbing came along. In fact many parks still have them. I don’t think you have lived until you have experienced using one either in the middle of a cold night or a steamy hot day. An experience you never forget! I’m not sure when toilet paper was invented but, my dad always told me they used old Sears and Roebucks catalogues to do their business. The nice thing about using the catalogues wasIMG_2816IMG_2823IMG_2827 they provided reading material if you really wanted to “get away from the hustle and bustle inside the house”. I would imagine there were many a husband or wives too for that matter who enjoyed the solitude the outhouse provide. A smelly retreat but no doubt a welcome one at times!

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

11 thoughts on “Week 16 # 43 Solitary

  1. Great post, Carolyn. Were you able to go inside … errr … the schoolhouse, I mean. LOL

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I love the one room school houses. They are scattered about in Indiana. I have yet to see one with the outhouse.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice entry. My father’s family have roots in IA and though I never saw a school house like this, I did use the pump on the farm when we visited.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Enjoyed reading your post.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Nice work! Love the story and the photos. My grandmother had an out house when I was young, as opposed to a working bathroom. I can still remember the smell…and the flies. Yuck!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great shots… I so love the midwest! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Great photos! Love the sepia tone.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thanks for the history of the building too. Interesting images. My husband had an outside loo in rural Ireland. He still spends ages on his throne complete with books and newspapers. The outside loo must be where it started!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

