52 weeks with Carolyn

A Theme Based Photo Blog

Week 6 #6 Bridges

23 Comments

Most people who live in Iowa make at least one trek to visit the “Bridges of Madison County”. If that sounds familiar to you, the love story book written by Robert James Waller was made into a movie in 1995 starring Clint Eastwood and Meryl Streep. The movie was filmed in Madison County near and around the Roseman Covered Bridge. While back in Iowa a few weeks ago my husband and I spent several hours driving around to capture photos to use for upcoming themes. We were headed to Roseman Bridge but because of heavy rains decided to forgo that trip and head to a closer bridge. Following signs from the main paved road we travelled 2 miles on gravel roads. Now, if you have never driven on gravel roads after several inches of rain in a rental car without front wheel drive, you may not be very sympathetic, but needless to say we experienced several precarious driving experiences. Finally around a gradual curve we IMG_2793

IMG_2797

IMG_2800spied Hogback Covered Bridge to the right before crossing a more modern bridge. 3 women where there shooting photos and meandering around so we waited for them to leave before I started snapping away. The sounds of the birds, bugs and the water flowing through the river below provided us with peaceful melodies while we explored the bridge. What the plaque shown doesn’t tell you, is there were 19 bridges built in Madison County and only 6 remain. The bridges when built were covered because it was cheaper to replace the roofs and sides than the heavy beams of the actual bridge. They all have been reconstructed at some point and are repaired when needed. Every year in October a Covered Bridge Festival is held in Winterset, the county seat. People travel from world wide to attend and take guided tours of the bridges.

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

23 thoughts on “Week 6 #6 Bridges

  1. Nice story and photos. Deanna

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great photos! I’ve been there a couple of times, thank you for the memories. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I would be thrilled to see these bridges. I saw the movie, “Bridges of Madison County,” more than once and loved it more each time.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I LOVE the picture of the pass through. Beautiful. I’ve always wanted to see a covered bridge & photograph it. One day!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m always half sobbing “Open the door” when I watch that movie … think its in my top 10 … both Streep and Eastwood are so amazing in it….
    Lovely bridge … thank goodness they have managed to save some of them – nicely done.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You are a great writer, as well as a talented photographer. I felt like I was there with you and Jay. Even though you didn’t share that part, I can still imagine the frustrating words that I am pretty sure were expressed during the “precarious” moments. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Photojournalism – well done Carolyn. They history is refreshing and the pictures are super.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Cool photos Carolyn:)

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I love the bottom photo- I may have to convince you to give me a print! ☺️ Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Way to go Sis, I’M proud of you. Nice narrative and great Pics. Looking forward to next weeks selections.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Good information – and great photo!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Lovely old bridge and it sounds as if it was an all around lovely experience for you. It shows in the result.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I think it was worth the drive!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Would love to see the covered bridges in Iowa! Isn’t this a great country?!?

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I enjoyed the film too. Great shot and I enjoyed the story and the tales of the drive. It sounded scary.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. It is amazing with the different designs for the covered bridges and whether they are closed wall or open. There are a number of them in New England and the designs are so different. I know there are about 13 or so up in Indiana with similar design to the ones in Iowa. A number of them have been destroyed due to the flooding in recent years.
    Always enjoyed covered bridges.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. My brother-in-law has photographed most if not all of the covered bridges in the US, I will forward a copy of your link for him to see. Very nice job. Gary

    Liked by 1 person

  18. great photo and thanks for the info. I never knew what the reason was for building a covered bridge.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Very cool picture!!! I’ve read that the reason they stopped building covered bridges is because robbers discovered they were the perfect hiding place for carrying out their evil deeds!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. My class of “62” has been hanging around Pacific Grove, California and Carmel where Clint Eastwood lives and hangs out. He still has and occassionally drives the truck from the movie which has KINKAID PHOTOGRAPHY painted on the doors. Loved the movie and have been to the bridge and the souvenier shop. The men in the gift shop said they hear more weepy love stories from women who seem to have a need to tell them. Thanks for the memories. Good job.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Loved the book…more than the movie. Enjoyed the information you shared about the reasoning behind covered bridges. When we travel I usually seek out bridges and recently found some in South Carolina….All because of a love story. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Great post… I think I have been to this bridge. I was working in the area one time several years ago. We had a couple free hours and tracked down 1 bridge and the house that they used as the movie set for ‘The Bridges of Madison County’. Still one of my all time favorite movies!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

