52 weeks with Carolyn

A Theme Based Photo Blog

Week 4 #44 Someone Working

14 Comments

I joined the Sarasota Friendship Knot Quilters Guild earlier this year and was excited to learn at the August 18th meeting we would be having a sew in to make pillowcases that would be donated to the organization ConKerr Cancer. I am familiar with ConKerr Cancer because my quilt guild in Des Moines IA. regularly donated pillowcases to this amazing organization. ConKerr Cancer collects and distributes pillowcases to children who are being hospitilazed for cancer treatment. At the sew in members donated fabric, cut, pinned, ironed and sewed over 120 pillowcases. It was a fun evening and I know all the children who receive the pillowcases will enjoy them as much as we did making them! To learn more about ConKerr Cancer check out their web site http://www.conkerrcancer.org/
IMG_2626

IMG_2627

IMG_2628

IMG_2629

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

14 thoughts on “Week 4 #44 Someone Working

  1. This is a very worthwhile organization and I am sure they appreciate everything the ladies do.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ccareful, before you know it you will be in charge!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a lovely idea … Fabulous… Great photos showing the process and progress!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That looks like fun! That sounds like a great way to meet some really nice ladies when you are new to the area. Thanks for including the link, I will check it out!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great photos of the progress for an absolutely awesome organization.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great photographic record of the event. I am sure the children will love the colourful pillowcases.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I used to make pillow cases for each holiday for my grandson. Fun stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Great work for a great cause. The results look delightful.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. by the way the quilt store on Honore is being featured in quilt Sampler magazine this year and they’re partying over there tomorrow (Saturday the 30th). I usually buy that issue of the magazine so I have to stop by,
    Carolyn, do you go to the LWRDPC meetings?

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Hi Carolyn, Great project and great photos. I’m in the Friendship Knot Quilt Guild too.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. What a lovely thing to do for the children.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Lovely idea – nicely captured.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

