52 weeks with Carolyn

A Theme Based Photo Blog

Week 3 # 23 Lamp Posts

12 Comments

IMG_2563

I was all ready to post another photo today until my husband and I ate dinner at St. Armand’s Circle last evening and spent time exploring the central park named Harding Circle. This lamp post is one of eight found in the park. Doing a little research on line, I discovered Ken Thompson Sarasota’s long-time city manager, while visiting San Simeon, the California estate of William Randolph Hearst, happened upon lighting fixtures around the pool. He brought the idea back to Sarasota. A Tampa company cast the double-headed statue in caryatid (a supporting column carved in the shape of a person) style based on a limestone relief of the Greek head “Winged Victory” at the Ringling Museum. The lamps were installed at strategic spots around the park in the mid 1960’s.

We also discovered a large plaque which explained the history of the island and its ties to John Ringling. Instead of me writing a detailed description I am also posting a picture of it. Happy Reading!:)

IMG_2584

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

12 thoughts on “Week 3 # 23 Lamp Posts

  1. I would like to see the Hearst Estate some day. That is one extraordinary lamp post. Has this project made you even more of a keen observer?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very interesting story you told us! Who knew? Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Let’s see, you have only lived in Sarasota since November. I have lived here since 2001 and was a frequent visitor before then; I am in and around St. Armands Circle at least twice a week and sometimes more; I go around the circle on my way to my real estate office on Longboat Key; however, I have never seen this! I’ll be sure to be more observant on my next trip. Thanks for the history.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. How very interesting. Glad you joined the group – you are posting some fascinating items for your themes.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Nice bit of history in photo-journalistic style. I can’t recall ever even spending time in the park. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ditto what MaryNell said! … I thought i was becoming more observant but I obviously have a long way to go!! How interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow, I’ve missed that too. I lived on Lido Key for a year and still missed that! Glad to hear your carrying your camera with you all the time. It’s that ONE time you leave the house without it that you will be kicking yourself!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thanks for the history of the post too. On the other side of the world, it gives me an added interest to the photography. I only heard about caryatids last month in my Scavenger hunt on FlickR. I shall have to look out for some. Nice shot.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Very cool! don’t forget that if you have a cell phone (and it’s charged – I forget to keep mine charged) with you, you’ve probably got a camera. They come in handy.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Been to Hearst Castle several times and know exactly what lamps you are talking about . Lovely photo you captured too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

