52 weeks with Carolyn

A Theme Based Photo Blog

Week 1 #36 Right Place At The Right Time

20 Comments

IMG_2302

I stepped outside last evening when I began to hear thunder and watched the storm clouds gathering from the east. Hoping to get some good shots of the approaching storm to be used for one of the photo themes, I clicked away. I have never experimented with the manual setting so I just left it on the auto setting. Imagine my surprise when I was able to catch lighting deep in the thunder clouds. Thought this photo fit the theme to a T.

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

20 thoughts on “Week 1 #36 Right Place At The Right Time

  1. Wow! Look at that amazing color!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was trying to catch the lightning in a shot as well but no luck. Your photo is beautiful, the sky almost looks on fire!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful photo great opportunity “right place …”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is spectacular. I hope you know, however, that stepping outside when you hear thunder is the exact opposite of what you should do when you hear thunder. Unless you have a camera at hand, of course!

    Liked by 4 people

  5. Photographers do the most dangerous things. Honestly, you should be inside when lighting is present, or at least that is what my Mother always told me. It’s sad that my Mother is no longer with me but, like you, I was outside Saturday night also trying to get lightning strikes. She would not have approved!! LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Awesome photo!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Very exciting to capture the lightening! … Thank goodness for digital too so we can take loads of shots!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Great shot. I too, like several others go outside when it is thundering to try for a good lightening shot.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Welcome to “52 Week Challenge”! You are off to a wonderful start — you picture is great!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. love that color, what a gorgeous shot. I say run outside and play in the rain, it’s fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Love this! Seeing lightning and hearing thunder are probably to two things I miss most about no longer living in Florida. What a fabulous shot!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Photography is really about the eye and recognizing a great photo opp when it presents itself. You nailed it! Great job! Can’t wait to see more.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Wow! Incredible colour in the clouds. Great shot!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Wow! Great shot. I love the colour and the light. We have had the tail end of ‘Hurricane Bertha’ here today. Not much thunder and nothing like yours. Well caught.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Nice pix! Love the colors and determination.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Gorgeous colours – I like your header photograph too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

